The Raptor Pit: GPU slot keeps failing - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
GPU slot keeps failing

#1 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 17 January 2014 - 10:41 PM

Hey guys, the GPU slot on my GTX 660 keeps failing. It's been a couple days since I got it to fold anything at all. I tried removing it and adding it back, then it will download 8900 WUs and will fold 2-3% and then it declares it BAD_WORK_UNIT. It downloads another one and same thing, and so on until the slot fails (after 3-5 BAD WU). I tried desinstalling the whole F@H client and re-install but it still does the exact same thing.

Anyone has an idea on how to get this fixed?
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#2 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 18 January 2014 - 10:39 AM

sounds like the gpu is unstable, it may be stable enough for games and daily use but not for folding so i'd try lower clocks on it.

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#3 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 18 January 2014 - 04:07 PM

It's not overclocked. Furthermore, it has been folding just fine for a while now. I haven't changed anything lately and all temps looks perfect. I really don't know what to try... :idontknow:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#4 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 18 January 2014 - 09:34 PM

Could it be the psu? I would imagine if you were having voltage problems it may make the card unstable.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#5 User is offline   caintry_boy 

  • Heeere's Johnny!!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 2,328
  • Joined: 16-July 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 19 January 2014 - 03:58 AM

Have a team member for The PIT that was having the same problem recently, I think it was just bad drivers. Have you updated the drivers for the card lately? Seems like we had her roll back to an older driver and that solved her problem.

edit: Yup! > Driver probs http://forums.pcpits...uestions/page-2
Posted Image


Heatware

Isaiah 6 v5 "Woe to me!" I cried. "I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty."
0

#6 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 19 January 2014 - 09:52 AM

I haven't changed anything at all, it just went bad on its own.

The PSU is 6 months old, and is total overkill so it isn't even breaking a sweat supplying that kind of power. The system is super stable, never had a single crash on it, although I have to say it is not used for gaming (my wife uses it for web browsing and photo editing).

I think I'll try updating drivers to the latest beta release. If that doesn't work I'll roll back to the previous WHQL.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#7 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 19 January 2014 - 04:57 PM

Did you try kicking it? That often helps for me.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#8 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:21 PM

View PostCvsi3, on 19 January 2014 - 04:57 PM, said:

Did you try kicking it? That often helps for me.


I'm just about to. I tried updating to the latest driver, rolling back to the previous one, clean installs.... Still won't fold anything, core 15 or 17 no difference.

Oh well. It was folding only 15-20k PPD on Core_15 and I can't remember the last time it actually got served more than one Core_17 unit in a month.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#9 User is offline   caintry_boy 

  • Heeere's Johnny!!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 2,328
  • Joined: 16-July 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 21 January 2014 - 07:34 AM

Did you try an older driver? > http://www.nvidia.co...hql-driver.html
Posted Image


Heatware

Isaiah 6 v5 "Woe to me!" I cried. "I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty."
0

#10 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 21 January 2014 - 09:06 AM

Wow, now that's old.

No, I'm not going that far back. I actually need that GPU to perform correctly for normal tasks it has to carry out. Not my fault if F@H can't get their $h*t together. LOL
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#11 User is offline   caintry_boy 

  • Heeere's Johnny!!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 2,328
  • Joined: 16-July 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 21 January 2014 - 01:58 PM

Just saying...a couple of the guys over at PC Pitstop had trouble like you and going to that older driver fixed the problem. Might be worth a shot...Posted Image
Posted Image


Heatware

Isaiah 6 v5 "Woe to me!" I cried. "I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty."
0

#12 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 21 January 2014 - 08:14 PM

I might just pull it out and give it to my bro when I go up north in two weeks, he'd be happy to use it for gaming. And it would save me a lot on my power bill. :hysterical:

Will keep the R7950 folding, anyway the 660 was insignificant in comparison.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users