The Raptor Pit: Die-Hard Burn-In - Flawed - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
Die-Hard Burn-In - Flawed

#1 User is offline   Raider0001 

  • User
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Polska

Posted 22 November 2013 - 02:19 PM

Hi
I just came here to say that DBT technology is flawed my Geil Leggera memory modules are unstable when cooled - cold boot issues - somewhat i figured out both of them were probably hot when tested and that is why both of them have passed. I have done memory testing both of them have passed without issues but somehow i still got cold boot issues even after replacing 3 PSU`s, and 3 motherboards.
0

#2 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,039
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 22 November 2013 - 09:47 PM

You mean you replaced the memory modules and it solved your cold boot issues?
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#3 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 22 November 2013 - 10:47 PM

sounds like he's saying his memory sticks pass testing yet he still blames them for his boot problems, personally i don't see how he can come to that conclusion, and as far as i know geil have a good reputation for it's memory sticks, so don't see how he can say their testing process is flawed.. :idontknow:

i'd be looking at the cpu or gpu as the cause of the problem, if he's tried 3 different motherboards and psu's and tested the ram yet still has problems.

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#4 User is offline   Raider0001 

  • User
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Polska

Posted 24 November 2013 - 01:46 AM

Full story:
GA-990XA-UD3 + fortron aurum 700W: i did memory upgrade to leggera 1600mhz cl9 2x8GB 1.5V - first boot with xmp profile ON, windows started and i saw only 12GB total in my system, so i went to bios bumped up memory voltage to 1.55 and i saw full 16GB but some instability showed up like BSODs, i bumped up to 1.6 still issues - 1.65V problems were gone
GA-Z87-HD3 + corsair vs550: unstable with xmp profile - motherboard beeping at start at me, so i bumped up voltage to 1.65 and did memory test with one module at time - one of them giving me errors so i bought another single leggera and some issues were still there motherboard sometimes wasn't booting properly with just fans spinning no beeping this time so i figured out this is a motherboard issue so i bought new and a new graphic card
MSI H87-G41 pc mate + Fractal Design Tesla R2 650W: XMP profile ON - one time it did not start at all absolutely no reaction to power button i had to clear cmos to resurrect it (the only thing i have changed was boot order and xmp profile), after some time i got first bsod while cold booting and then another one with new hard drives and new ssd and new psu - that was very frustrating the only remaining thing i left behind was 1 leggera that seemed fine in testing and a pc case. So what i did lately was bumping up memory voltage to 1.6V and guess what i got cold boot issues again with 2 bsods one after another i had to test the memory but nothing all seems fine. I bumped up to 1.65V and today another cold boot BSOD.

Every single time it was cold boot issue - after a while working in windows i have absolutely no problems with PRIME95 and FURMARK working in the background. How the hell both of those memory modules have passed DBT ?
And im not alone with this:
Posted Image
Posted Image

and i runned out of moneys to buy another set
0

#5 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,039
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 24 November 2013 - 10:58 AM

Sure looks like there's a problem with the memory. Best way to know for sure is to swap the memory and see if that solves it.

Just RMA this set to Geil to make sure.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#6 User is offline   Kwikky 

  • Mark
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 19-April 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 November 2013 - 12:56 PM

I had an issue similar to this a few tears back. Quite a few years back actually. I've never used Geil sticks before, I always stuck with OCZ (depending on my budget), Corsair or Team Extreme. Team Extreme being the best for overclocking, in my experience. Anyways, after having "basically" the same issues, with three different sets of memory, I sent the board back. It was a Gigabyte 775 board (model escapes me). Gigabyte RMA'd the board for me, and told me that after they had tested it (whether they did or not, who knows), and told me that the memory controller in the board was defective. Whether or not that's the case here, that was my experience.

Good Luck!!

Mark

Edit: The new board they sent fixed the issue. All three sets of ram worked flawlessly in the new board that they sent me.
I forget what's in this thing, but it runs perfect!!
0

#7 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,039
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 25 November 2013 - 09:16 PM

View PostKwikky, on 24 November 2013 - 12:56 PM, said:

I had an issue similar to this a few tears back. Quite a few years back actually. I've never used Geil sticks before, I always stuck with OCZ (depending on my budget), Corsair or Team Extreme. Team Extreme being the best for overclocking, in my experience. Anyways, after having "basically" the same issues, with three different sets of memory, I sent the board back. It was a Gigabyte 775 board (model escapes me). Gigabyte RMA'd the board for me, and told me that after they had tested it (whether they did or not, who knows), and told me that the memory controller in the board was defective. Whether or not that's the case here, that was my experience.

Good Luck!!

Mark

Edit: The new board they sent fixed the issue. All three sets of ram worked flawlessly in the new board that they sent me.


New boards don't have memory controllers anymore as CPUs all have them integrated now. And defective CPUs are extremely rare.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#8 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 25 November 2013 - 10:01 PM

personally i don't think i'd raise memory voltages to get an unstable machine stable. in fact i'd never raise the voltages unless i was overclocking it, memory should run stable at the stated voltage at the stated speed if it doesn't then i'd return it for some that does.

first thing i'd do is make sure i have the latest bios for the motherboard, then test each and every stick in all slots then i'd try running memory at 1333 instead of 1600, if it's stable at the lower mhz then i'd rma it.

i have known memory even tho it's sold as 1600 only to be stable at the lower mhz and needed to be returned, think that memory usually has a default 1333 profile.(can't remember what the correct term is for "profile" now but it's what the memory says it's voltage and speed is, so when installed at defaults that's what the motherboard will set as ram speed if you change nothing) but 1600 ram should have 1600 as it's standard profile in my opinion and not 1333 which is just basically overclocked ram when it's been sold as and running at 1600.

:crazy:

here's a link where someone had a similar cold boot problem and it seems it wasn't anything to do with memory but win8 and it's drivers for certain devices not being certified or something for win 8 and needed to be updated, so that's also something i think i'd be looking at after a bios update if needed as the cause of your problems and not the ram which seems to pass your tests. :- http://www.eightforu...er-startup.html
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#9 User is offline   Raider0001 

  • User
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Polska

Posted 26 November 2013 - 01:59 PM

Sorry but memory controller built in to the intel/amd cpu cannot be updated not even by bios. Anyway i did set 1333 clock some time ago it did not help. Very weird case that brand new DBT tested and selected chips are faulty brand new - my PC should be more suitable for DBT testing.
0

#10 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 26 November 2013 - 10:27 PM

who's talking about updating the memory controller?

the reason for a bios update is to fix any compatibility or stability issues if you have any.
eg. ram

another example, i need to update my bios to fix a compatibility issue with hard drives over 3 TB (gpt) and will get around to it when i actually purchase a 3TB or greater hard drive. :hysterical:

not saying a bios update will definitely fix your problems but it may.

personally i don't think you have a ram or hardware problem, unless it's the hard drive, from everything i've googled the culprit seems more and more likely a software win8 and driver problem somewhere.

one way to test my theory is to run a linux live cd and see if it boots up and works without any problems first and every time, hot and cold boots.

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#11 User is offline   Kwikky 

  • Mark
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 19-April 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 November 2013 - 05:56 PM

Terry, I mentioned that I had a bad memory controller in one of my OLD motherboards. I'll shut up now and have a couple ice cold beers!! Happy Friday!! :-)
I forget what's in this thing, but it runs perfect!!
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users