The Raptor Pit: Copying a system drive - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
Copying a system drive

#1 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist ©
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 27 October 2013 - 11:47 AM

What I'm trying to do may be quite simple but I'm not too sure how to go about it.

So I have a 60GB SSD which I think may be on its last leg. It contains the Windows install (Win 7 64-bit) and system reserved partition and all. What I want to do it to copy the entire drive to my new Samsung 120GB SSD, so I can keep the OS installed as it is. How would I go about doing this? I guess I need to find a program that will copy it, and then extend the 60GB partition to the full 120GB... What's the best/easiest way to do it?

:idontknow:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#2 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 27 October 2013 - 01:37 PM

I dont think you would have to extend the partition. Its not so much copying that part, your just gonna copy the contents of the drive
from one to the other. Samsung may have something on there page for doing this, alot of HDD Manufactures had software for doing this,
I would imagine SSD drive manufactures would too. But basically it would just do a mirror image to the new drive, then make the bios
load the new drive as primary so it will boot off it instead of the old, and then you can erase all the old drive stuff.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#3 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 27 October 2013 - 01:44 PM

I dont know what drive in particular that you have or if this particular verson will work for you, but i believe the software
in this link is for copying the drives.

http://www.samsung.c...D120BW#content3
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
1

#4 User is offline   jefn 

  • Bird Janitor®
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 56,086
  • Joined: 05-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Longmont, Colorado, USA

Posted 27 October 2013 - 02:33 PM

If you've got a copy of Acronis True Image, there is a Disk Clone feature that works nifty.

I've used it numerous times to upgrade the disk in my laptops.

New disk goes into a USB caddy. The old disk is cloned to the new. The old disk is then swapped out.


Jef
p.s. The rest of today's shenanigans may be found at the Barely Uninteresting Blog.


Posted Image
0

#5 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist ©
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 27 October 2013 - 04:35 PM

Thanks for the link, Cv. I didn't even think about looking at Samsung website.

What I meant by extending the partition, is that I don't want to copy the content of my 60GB to a 120GB and be left with 60GB that is unused on the new disk, I want the C: drive to occupy the whole new disk... if you understand what I mean. I don't know if the Samsung tool does that.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#6 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist ©
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 27 October 2013 - 06:12 PM

Well, that was much easier than I expected. I installed the Samsung program, plugged the new disk on SATA and copied away. Took 20 minutes total (10 minutes flat copying) and the final result couldn't be more exactly what I wanted to do.

Cool! :cool:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#7 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 27 October 2013 - 07:10 PM

I believe when you copy drives it doesn't copy partition information.
Glad you got it working smoothly
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#8 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist ©
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 27 October 2013 - 07:50 PM

View PostCvsi3, on 27 October 2013 - 07:10 PM, said:

I believe when you copy drives it doesn't copy partition information.
Glad you got it working smoothly


It did keep the "system reserved" partition intact, and then the main partition (C:) which was some 55GB is now 110GB or something. So it did stretch it exactly like I wanted.

I thought it would be much more complicated than that. Last time I did something like that was ages ago and it was a mess. Now that they want you to upgrade to their new SSDs, they just made it easier.

The new Samsung runs great, too. A fine drive for the price! :)
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users