The Raptor Pit: FAHCore is going OpenCL - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
FAHCore is going OpenCL AMD users rejoice!

#1 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 01 April 2013 - 11:31 AM

I just read that FaH is moving to OpenCL for an upcoming GPU3 core. That means that AMD users will likely make a killing as their GPUs are quite good at OpenCL! :yup:

The core in question is FahCore_17. Unless I'm mistaken, this new core is in beta, so AMD users must set "client-type:beta" flag in FaH v7 and prepare to be amazed by powerful AMD GPU folding... for the first time ever! :hysterical:

Core Wiki: http://fahwiki.net/index.php/Cores
Set "client-type:beta": http://www.bronyatho...hread.php?tid=3
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#2 User is offline   equinox 

  • happily folding
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 1,957
  • Joined: 28-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison Wisconsin

Posted 01 April 2013 - 12:49 PM

yeah, so far im not impressed. 16k ppd on a 6970 and 18k ppd on a 7970. at least the new core17 on beta flag dont seem to eat up cpu cycles as badly.
********** intel i7-2700K~asus sabertooth Z77~AMD 280X~g-skill ripjaws 2133~pc power 1200wattintel i5 4570s~gigabyte H81~ HD7970~corair dominators 1800~pc power 750 watt amd FX-8120~asus sabertooth 990fx~HD7970~g-skill ripjaws 1866~pc power 750 watt20 i5 3570's folding********** Folding in rememberance of my cousin Brad and aunt PatBoth suffered and were taken by Huntingston DeseasePosted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#3 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 01 April 2013 - 01:32 PM

At least it's not as bad as it used to be? Can't be.

Oh well, I'm on Nvidia for the time being. :P
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#4 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 01 April 2013 - 03:49 PM

Im giving it a shot on my stock clocked 7970. Cant be any worse then it was lol.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#5 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 01 April 2013 - 04:18 PM

Ive let the beta run for about 30 min now, and the client is estimating about 39K ppd. Dont know how accurate that is tho.
Ill let it run for a day or 2 and see what it actually turns out.

For me its using between 1-3% of cpu power, which is much lower then it was. Maybe tomorrow i can see how the beta core
and smp play together.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#6 User is offline   equinox 

  • happily folding
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 1,957
  • Joined: 28-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison Wisconsin

Posted 01 April 2013 - 04:44 PM

odd, i installed cat 13.1 last night and now im getting about 36k est ppd. i was using 12.8 before because skyrim was crashing. seems 13.1 has some benefit.
********** intel i7-2700K~asus sabertooth Z77~AMD 280X~g-skill ripjaws 2133~pc power 1200wattintel i5 4570s~gigabyte H81~ HD7970~corair dominators 1800~pc power 750 watt amd FX-8120~asus sabertooth 990fx~HD7970~g-skill ripjaws 1866~pc power 750 watt20 i5 3570's folding********** Folding in rememberance of my cousin Brad and aunt PatBoth suffered and were taken by Huntingston DeseasePosted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#7 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 01 April 2013 - 06:04 PM

36-39k is pretty good IMO. My GTX460 would put out 16k if I didn't need it for anything else. :P
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#8 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 01 April 2013 - 06:50 PM

Im thinking that when the system finishes the first work unit, im gonna try overclocking the gpu about 200mhz and as well as the cpu
and see what happens. This one is now averaging 42kppd after leaving the machine running by itself. I was using it earlier.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#9 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 01 April 2013 - 06:57 PM

I usually don't OC much when folding because it dissipates a lot of heat already... Watch your temps bro! ;)
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#10 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 01 April 2013 - 07:04 PM

Thats one think i love about this card, its watercooled. Ive clocked it up to 1200mhz, from the 925 stock clock. And ran folding in the past like,
that, and the temp never went above 45c. When it was air cooled, it would push up to 90c with a much less overclock.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#11 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:49 AM

Nice card! It's been quite a while since I had top hardware.

My system will need a total redo this year, I'm gonna put some good money aside for that. :bad:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#12 User is offline   mikej 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 128
  • Joined: 16-November 08

Posted 04 April 2013 - 11:54 AM

Not to throw a damper on the increase in ppd, but, ......

You guys do realize that you're not supposed to use the "--client-type=beta" flag unless you are registered as being on the beta team.

As ridiculous as it sounds, you (the folders using the flag) as well as the team can/will be banned if the dipstick moderators at the fah forum find out.

It may be wise to delete this thread to protect your butts and folding privileges.

Just a word to the wise, my folding friends.
Folding Power
(1) ip-35Pro . q6600 @ 3.2 + 9800GTX + GTS 250 (xp) (2) IP-35 . Q9450 @3.2 + 2 X 9800GTX (xp) (3) ga-35 . q6600 @ 3.2 + 2 X GTX 260 (xp) (4&5) 2 x Gigabyte ex58-UD5 . I7 920 @ 3.909ghz (linux ubuntu)
0

#13 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 04 April 2013 - 12:56 PM

Good point, Mike! ;)
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users