The Raptor Pit: New GPUs - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
New GPUs GTX660... R7950...

#1 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:23 AM

I'm about to pull the trigger on a new GPU... there are good specials on GTX 660 this weekend and I could get one for under 200$. This would be a nice upgrade from my GTX 460 and I read on other forums that it would yield a 60% increase in PPD, while consuming 12.5% less power! :woohoo:

What I really want is a better card for gaming and I was waiting for the HD7870 to drop in price but it's just not happening. At under 200$ the Nvidia has a better performance/price ratio and well, it just so happens that it's so much better at folding. :yup:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#2 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 17 April 2013 - 03:19 PM

Well, I'm getting only 21800 PPD with the GTX660 on 8070, 8071 WUs. I was doing 17700 with the GTX460 on the exact same WUs so it's a bit disappointing for folding, especially considering it has almost 3 times the shader count (336 vs. 960). 185% more shaders, 23% more PPD... :what:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#3 User is offline   equinox 

  • happily folding
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 1,957
  • Joined: 28-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison Wisconsin

Posted 17 April 2013 - 06:00 PM

i think thats pretty close dostov, gpu wu seem kinda flakey right now. it may ramp up a bit after the chimp challenge is over due to the type of wu's available
********** intel i7-2700K~asus sabertooth Z77~AMD 280X~g-skill ripjaws 2133~pc power 1200wattintel i5 4570s~gigabyte H81~ HD7970~corair dominators 1800~pc power 750 watt amd FX-8120~asus sabertooth 990fx~HD7970~g-skill ripjaws 1866~pc power 750 watt20 i5 3570's folding********** Folding in rememberance of my cousin Brad and aunt PatBoth suffered and were taken by Huntingston DeseasePosted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#4 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 21 April 2013 - 12:08 PM

I getting served only 8070 and 8071 on the GTX660, nothing else. They use to take 5 hours 20 mins for 17700PPD on the GTX460, now a little over 4 hours for 21700PPD.

The increase is no so impressive, but the power draw is much lower. The EVGA "stock" cooler is silent also, and dumps heat outside the case so my CPU runs a degree or two cooler!

All in all, satisfied with the new card. Just hoping I get some better WUs...
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#5 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 28 April 2013 - 10:30 AM

I love the 7624! It's worth 14k and yields over 28k PPD on my GTX660! More 7624 for me!!! :muahaha:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#6 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 10 October 2013 - 11:22 AM

Just pulled the trigger on yet another GPU. I got a XFX 7950 DD for $200 (after mail-in rebate). I thought it was a pretty good deal. It's gonna help with gaming and I read it's folding some 70,000 PPD.... we shall see when it gets here.

I'm gonna retire the GTX 460 (16k PPD) and will replace it in my GF's PC with the GTX 660 (40k PPD).

You better get back online Cv, cause I'm coming for ya! :bad:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#7 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 10 October 2013 - 12:53 PM

Haha, im gonna try. lol. Maybe ill fire up the smp client as well.

I was looking into getting another 7970 here soon, they are 279 for the same card
that i have, just different brand. That was after MIR, on newegg. I would just have
to find another waterblock for it.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#8 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 10 October 2013 - 04:49 PM

Yeah, with the new cards coming to retail AMD is getting rid of its older stock. I got the 7950 for a song and those 7970s are pretty cheap also. Knowing that the new R9 280X is the same GPU, it makes sense to take advantage of the deals.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#9 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 26 October 2013 - 04:57 PM

The 7950 is up and running! F@H reports it will average 75,000 PPD on 8900 WU... :cool:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#10 User is offline   Adak 

  • Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 25-May 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California

Posted 27 October 2013 - 01:21 PM

Congrats dostov! Sounds like a big step up in gaming and folding. :nicescore:
0

#11 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 27 October 2013 - 06:23 PM

Thanks Adak!

Yeah, GPU folding is a must for amateur folders who don't control a farm or have a 2P/4P. It yields the best PPD per watt.

This 7950 is quite nice. The XFX Dual Dissipation cooler is dead quiet, I can't hear it even when folding non-stop. It's also one a shorter PCB design, just 9.5" long... fits everywhere!

Thanks for the help lately, Adak! We can always use some help! :)
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#12 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 27 October 2013 - 07:08 PM

How are your temps looking on that? Whats it clocked at?
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#13 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 27 October 2013 - 07:53 PM

It's clocked at 925Mhz (that is boost state). Temps are sitting pretty at 69-70C folding at full in a moderately well ventilated case (1x120 in front, 2x120 out top).

I think this thing has no voltage control though, and no chance of ever having it from what I gathered from some googling. I'll see what I can do in the OC dept but I don't expect too much if I can't change volts.

EDIT: This one here: http://products.xfxf...50/FX-795A-TDKC
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#14 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 27 October 2013 - 09:04 PM

On mine i had to unlock voltage controls within Afterburner to be able to do it, as that is my choice of oc software for my card.
Mine is clocked at 925mhz from the factory, and the factory overclock limit was 1125 mhz, which it did on stock voltage. But then that
was the max overclock limit. But there is a MSI Afterburner Patch that does something to Catalyst to unlock the clock limit in MSI,
now it will let me go to something way higher then the card would be able to produce. Im gonna try to find the link to it. Maybe worth
a shot for you as well.

http://forums.guru3d...ad.php?t=370201
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#15 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 28 October 2013 - 09:02 AM

I played a little with Afterburner and managed to unlock clock settings, but not the voltage control. I am now free to overclock the card to the moon but without voltage control I doubt I can get it very far. I'll try putting a small OC to it and see if it folds, and if it actually does a difference in PPD.

EDIT: Scratch that. The thing just crashed on me, third time since I installed that card. I have to figure out what's causing this.... it seems it doesn't like folding when I use the PC as it doesn't crash just folding overnight.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#16 User is offline   Cvsi3 

  • Im Me
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,575
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 28 October 2013 - 09:22 AM

If you go into the settings on afterburner is the voltage controls checked?
Im assuming you did, but figured I would throw it out there anyways.
5930K - GA-X99P-SLI - 4x8GB DDR4 - 4x280X's - Couple of SSD's - Kali Linux - Windows 7 x64 - Asus 24" LCD
Swiftech MCP-655 - Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Block - 1 Koolance, 3 EKWB GPU Waterblocks - 2x Alphacool 140mmx3 UT60 Rad's - DD Res

My Heatware

RIP:
chuck4456
kwikky
equinox
0

#17 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 28 October 2013 - 10:18 AM

View PostCvsi3, on 28 October 2013 - 09:22 AM, said:

If you go into the settings on afterburner is the voltage controls checked?
Im assuming you did, but figured I would throw it out there anyways.


Yeah, I checked everything. LOL

I read on the forums that some boards just don't have voltage control. This one is of the "value" kind of 7950s so I expect it has less options than others.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users