The Raptor Pit: MacBook Pro - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
MacBook Pro

#1 User is offline   Monet 

  • Super Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 15-December 08

Posted 29 June 2012 - 09:21 AM

I was recently given a not working 'macbook pro'.
2.3Ghz dual core intel i5
4gb 1333mhz ddr3 sdram
NO HDD
13.3 inch led backlit display 1280-800
intel hd graphics.....
...
..
.

And so on.

So, I'd like to refurb it, anyone have any experience of such a task?

Model No. A1278
Abit AN7..................................915p-m3
AMD Barton 3200XP................P4 640 3.2gb
1 GB crucual DDR...................1gb nanya ddr2 (2 x 512)
3 x samsung sata 250gb.........maxtor 300gb sata
1 x samsung sata 160gb
Gainward Bliss 7800GS..........ATIradeon x600pro
XP sp3.....................................XP MC sp3
0

#2 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 29 June 2012 - 02:18 PM

even tho it has no hd, does it post when you turn it on?

if it doesn't, then depending on what's wrong it might not be cost effective to try and repair it.

if it does then just add a hd and install an os onto it.

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#3 User is offline   Monet 

  • Super Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 15-December 08

Posted 30 June 2012 - 12:19 PM

No post, no 2.5" hdd to go in it either.

Allegedly the mobo was/is broken in some way so the guys in the apple store said to the previous owner, (i thought it was a con to help them shift a new macbook)
so i dont have a lot of options, a new mobo is circa 250 ($330) which is a nono in my book.

Might my best option be to strip the processor and memory out of it and throw them into a new board (best i5 mobo is???) then flog the laptop shell and mobo/bits separate?
Abit AN7..................................915p-m3
AMD Barton 3200XP................P4 640 3.2gb
1 GB crucual DDR...................1gb nanya ddr2 (2 x 512)
3 x samsung sata 250gb.........maxtor 300gb sata
1 x samsung sata 160gb
Gainward Bliss 7800GS..........ATIradeon x600pro
XP sp3.....................................XP MC sp3
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users