The Raptor Pit: active pfc power supply question/ 115v issue - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
active pfc power supply question/ 115v issue

#1 User is offline   el kido 

  • No
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 1,789
  • Joined: 15-October 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 27 April 2012 - 10:38 PM

So my kingwin mach 1 1220w was acting a little strange so i did an rma, they are close to me so it was an instant exchange.

I take it home, plug it in, pc will turn on and off in less than a second. I did not do any other changes to the pc.

Took it back today, they did the paper clip test and it turned on fine, so i took it home and tried again....nothing.

I ripped thw pc apart, threw in my old 7900gt and a 400w psu and it works fine. In bios etc

So since they are closed for the weekend, i am pc less for about a week now.

Heres the main question.

There is no 115v/230v switch hence the active pfc. I think this is my culprit. Any way around this or am i just gonna go buy a new psu and sell the rma once i get a new one? Btw i received a brand new one
CPU---------------I7 2600k @ 4.5ghz daily
Case--------------Xigmatek Elysium
SSD----------------240GB Corsair Neutron GTX
GPU--------------Gigabyte GTX680 OC
PSU---------------Corsair AX750W
Motherboard-----EVGA P67 FTW
RAM--------------8GB G. Skill Ripjaw X DDR3 @ 2133
Sound Card------X-Fi Titanium
Cooling-----------EK Supremecey Nickel CSQ, XTX 360 Radiatior, MCP355 w/ Ek Top


My Heat
0

#2 User is offline   caintry_boy 

  • Heeere's Johnny!!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 2,331
  • Joined: 16-July 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 28 April 2012 - 12:18 PM

I would go and buy a new PSU and sell the RMA when you get it.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817256069

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817139014




:grin2:
Posted Image


Heatware

Isaiah 6 v5 "Woe to me!" I cried. "I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty."
0

#3 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,032
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 28 April 2012 - 08:06 PM

Well, yeah... If swapping only the PSU has your system working again, it's reasonable to think the PSU is the problem. If the RMA is new, you should be able to get good money for it! :yup:

By the way, Active PFC is not exclusive to power supply units that have no input voltage switch.
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users