The Raptor Pit: Welcome our Newest Members - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
Welcome our Newest Members

#1 User is offline   Raymo 

  • Frozen Jack..
  • Group: Root Admin
  • Posts: 11,554
  • Joined: 16-July 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Campbell, Texas

Posted 03 January 2011 - 09:08 PM

:wc2: Guy's

If you have any questions... just ask
Intel i7-3960x ~ Gigabyte G1 Assassin2 ~ GSkill 16gb RipjawsX 2400 ~ 3x GTX 580 ~ 2x Kingston HyperX SSD2x Dragon F1 Extreme LN2 Pots ~ Koolance EXOS 2.5 H20 System ~ Koolance CPU & VGA Waterblocks
0

#2 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 23 February 2013 - 09:19 PM

your team numbers have diminished greatly for one reason or another, so thought i'd give you a helping hand for a while (my team won't miss my points to much at the moment).

lets see if i can help sillyslider03 and dostov keep your team in the top 500 until some of your usual team members can get their rigs back folding (equinox and cvs13 for two. ;) ), then i hope to see trp start climbing the leaderboards again. :tup:

won't be massive points from me, probably av about 5k a day and i don't know for how long, but i hope my donation will spur some of you to get back folding.

those powerful cpus and gpus some of you have can certainly produce very high ppd and would make a great difference to the team even if only folding 2/3 hrs a day when your using your pc.

here's your team stats:- http://folding.extre....php?s=&t=74960

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#3 User is offline   dostov 

  • Competition Specialist
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,039
  • Joined: 07-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia

Posted 24 February 2013 - 07:45 AM

Thanks Terry!

I've just got back to it a couple weeks ago. Sadly, going away for two weeks... but I'll start again as soon as I get back.

Cheers! :beerchug:
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#4 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:47 PM

no probs.

just hope i can inspire some of your team to start folding again.

i'd hate to see the team drop out of the top 500, especially when it only needs a few more dedicated folders to start climbing the leaderboard again.

:crazy:/>
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#5 User is offline   equinox 

  • happily folding
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 1,957
  • Joined: 28-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison Wisconsin

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:40 AM

i was getting lonely so i was folding for ocf for a while. i will come back home now. :salute:/>
********** intel i7-2700K~asus sabertooth Z77~AMD 280X~g-skill ripjaws 2133~pc power 1200wattintel i5 4570s~gigabyte H81~ HD7970~corair dominators 1800~pc power 750 watt amd FX-8120~asus sabertooth 990fx~HD7970~g-skill ripjaws 1866~pc power 750 watt20 i5 3570's folding********** Folding in rememberance of my cousin Brad and aunt PatBoth suffered and were taken by Huntingston DeseasePosted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#6 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 26 February 2013 - 02:36 PM

:wee:

standford still benefits no matter who people fold for, but i'd be sorry to see the raptor pit fall below 500th position especially when i reckon if just a few more members started folding again you'd start moving up the leaderboards.

if the team could put up just over 30k ppd you'd start moving back up pretty quickly, and that shouldn't be to hard if people just folded when they were on their pc's a couple hrs a day with the hardware they have here i reckon.

and as you know with the new version 7 software it more or less sets up everything for you, gpu and cpu folding is so much easier now, everyone just don't forget to get your passkey first and use it to get the bonus points.
http://folding.stanf...ish/FAQ-passkey

again welcome back equinox, :dtup:
sillyslider and dostov have been doing great but they do need some of the old big points scorers like you back to stop falling down the leaderboard. :tup:

now where's cvsi3 and ray etc.
don't forget every little bit helps, on my team people still fold with old p4's and there's even one or 2 laptops plugging away.

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#7 User is offline   equinox 

  • happily folding
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 1,957
  • Joined: 28-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison Wisconsin

Posted 26 February 2013 - 04:42 PM

120k a day should move us up a little better.

********** intel i7-2700K~asus sabertooth Z77~AMD 280X~g-skill ripjaws 2133~pc power 1200wattintel i5 4570s~gigabyte H81~ HD7970~corair dominators 1800~pc power 750 watt amd FX-8120~asus sabertooth 990fx~HD7970~g-skill ripjaws 1866~pc power 750 watt20 i5 3570's folding********** Folding in rememberance of my cousin Brad and aunt PatBoth suffered and were taken by Huntingston DeseasePosted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#8 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 26 February 2013 - 07:59 PM

120k ppd, :respekt:
i can only dream of ppd like that. :drool:
now to watch the team move up again, in time i reckon trp can get into the top 200. :tup:

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#9 User is offline   Kwikky 

  • Mark
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 19-April 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 March 2013 - 11:50 AM

I've been having some really serious issues with my hands (again), so it's hard to type and even using a mouse by itself takes two hands. Between today and tomorrow i'd like to start folding for TRP (i've never folded before). My desktop isn't a monster by any means, but it seems that every little bit can help. If you guys would be kind enough to link me to everything I need to get installed and start folding for you all, i'll do my best to get it going by tomorrow. Just a stock AMD quad, 8GB mem, and a 6xxx vid.

Thanks,

Mark
I forget what's in this thing, but it runs perfect!!
0

#10 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 02 March 2013 - 01:42 PM

sorry to hear about your hands kwikky..

first thing to do is read this and get yourself a passkey..
http://folding.stanf...ish/FAQ-passkey
you get lots more points for your time and effort than you would without using one.

then download and run fah from here :- http://folding.stanf...nglish/HomePage
for me the "set download folding@home" links to the linux 64bit software but for you it should link to the latest windows v7 software.

here's a link explaining the install process :- http://folding.stanf...nglish/WinGuide

all you really need to do is
enter your username(anything you like that's not used)
enter the team number which is 74960
copy and paste your passkey in from the email(if you decided to get one.).
choose gpu + smp folding as preferred method
and i think that's it, never installed on a windows machine.

if you have any problems just ask here.
and welcome to the trp team.
this is where you can find out how you and the team are doing. :- http://folding.extre....php?s=&t=74960

:crazy:/>
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#11 User is offline   Kwikky 

  • Mark
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 19-April 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 March 2013 - 03:01 PM

Thanks terry. I'm guessing it's working. CPU says running:3. GPU is waiting for idle. I didn't change any settings yet. I used the passkey also. Thanks again.

Mark
I forget what's in this thing, but it runs perfect!!
0

#12 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 02 March 2013 - 06:31 PM

yes sounds like it's up and running.

not sure about the "GPU is waiting for idle" tho, i don't run windows or fold with gpu so don't know what you should be seeing, but sounds to me like it's only folding on the cpu at the moment.
maybe equinox can help you out there if he thinks there's a problem, only time will tell tho.

it'll take a while before it will complete a work unit (wu) and you start seeing points, also after you've completed 10 wu on time, the points you get for each wu then will dramatically increase because your using the passkey.

besides using the control panel to check progress don't forget you can keep an eye here http://folding.extre....php?s=&t=74960
or
http://folding.stanf...u/English/Stats
shouldn't be long before you see your name on the team list.

again welcome to the trp folding team.

i'm only a temp team member, so will be folding for trp only a couple more weeks or so before returning to my usual team.
you have some great team members folding with you tho and fingers crossed your example will encourage some more to start folding again.

:crazy:/>/>

i wouldn't worry about changing any of the advanced settings at the moment, a lot depends on if your going to be folding 24/7 or not, if not then leave them alone anyway,
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#13 User is offline   Kwikky 

  • Mark
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 19-April 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 March 2013 - 07:27 AM

Gottcha. It is still on the first WU I guess. 99% done. I'm fine with it not using the gpu, as I wouldn't want it to lag me playing Solitaire!! :-P

Mark
I forget what's in this thing, but it runs perfect!!
0

#14 User is offline   equinox 

  • happily folding
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 1,957
  • Joined: 28-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison Wisconsin

Posted 03 March 2013 - 08:44 AM

i dont even bother using my amd gpus to fold. there dont do that well , not to mention they will steal a cpu core to do the wu. i would delete the gpu and set to the cpu to 4 cores folding. when you do other things on the machine it seems to work better.
********** intel i7-2700K~asus sabertooth Z77~AMD 280X~g-skill ripjaws 2133~pc power 1200wattintel i5 4570s~gigabyte H81~ HD7970~corair dominators 1800~pc power 750 watt amd FX-8120~asus sabertooth 990fx~HD7970~g-skill ripjaws 1866~pc power 750 watt20 i5 3570's folding********** Folding in rememberance of my cousin Brad and aunt PatBoth suffered and were taken by Huntingston DeseasePosted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#15 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 03 March 2013 - 10:08 AM

http://folding.extre...php?s=&u=633593

your now an official team member,

520 points for your first completed wu.(when the bonus points kick in, that same wu done in the same time would probably have seen you score over 2,000 points.) :congrats:

don't forget to follow equinox advice about deleting the gpu slot and changing the smp slot to use 4 cores instead of the 3 it's currently using,

i'd have run both smp and gpu personally, don't think gpu folding would effect your "Solitaire" experience any but equinox knows a lot more about gpu folding than i do, so if he says the points aren't worth the lost core from smp and to drop the gpu anyway then drop it. :hysterical:

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#16 User is offline   Kwikky 

  • Mark
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 19-April 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 March 2013 - 06:41 PM

Thanks Fellas. With the "power slider" on high, it lets me use the gpu. With all 4 CPU cores going, and the GPU going, I "process" 35% more ppd than when the GPU is off. If the GPU does that much, I should just leave it on when I don't need it.

Mark
I forget what's in this thing, but it runs perfect!!
0

#17 User is offline   equinox 

  • happily folding
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 1,957
  • Joined: 28-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison Wisconsin

Posted 05 March 2013 - 07:17 PM

interesting, maybe the new 7.3.6 software improves things for amd gpu's. i may try it on my 2700k and 2 6970's and see what it does.
********** intel i7-2700K~asus sabertooth Z77~AMD 280X~g-skill ripjaws 2133~pc power 1200wattintel i5 4570s~gigabyte H81~ HD7970~corair dominators 1800~pc power 750 watt amd FX-8120~asus sabertooth 990fx~HD7970~g-skill ripjaws 1866~pc power 750 watt20 i5 3570's folding********** Folding in rememberance of my cousin Brad and aunt PatBoth suffered and were taken by Huntingston DeseasePosted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#18 User is offline   Kwikky 

  • Mark
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 19-April 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2013 - 08:14 AM

I'm sure there's a "proper" thread for all of this, but i'm already here. Can I run F@H on my work 'puter, same name, team, passkey at the same time my home 'puter is running it, and have it go towards my score? Also, does it "tax" the internet speeds much? I haven't done a speed test to check yet. Thanks again for the help and info!

Mark
I forget what's in this thing, but it runs perfect!!
0

#19 User is offline   terry1966 

  • Tweaked Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: 03-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 10 March 2013 - 01:53 PM

yes you can use the same name and passkey on as many pc's as you like at the same time. not sure if your work pc is yours but if not then you really need to get permission from your employers before putting fah on it.

the only time fah might be an issue with internet is when it's uploading the results to fah after it's completed a wu, but to be honest i've never had any issues with my internet speed because of fah,

:crazy:
cpu:- core i7 920
motherboard:- gigabyte EX58-UD3R
memory:- Corsair 6GB DDR3 Dominator PC3-12800C8 1600MHz
gpu:- asus gtx275
hard drives:- ocz 60gb agility ssd, 2xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache
power supply:- PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
case:- Coolermaster ATCS 840
watercooled cpu.
0

#20 User is offline   Kwikky 

  • Mark
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 19-April 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2013 - 05:29 PM

Sweet. No worries about work. I built all of the 'puters there, and set up the network. I just didn't want to take a chance of choking our internet, if my CAD guy was downloading a model. Some of the files can reach 500MB+ in size. I'll get it set up tomorrow. Thanks once again.


Mark
I forget what's in this thing, but it runs perfect!!
0

Share this topic:


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users