The Raptor Pit: My new Toy in the works - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
My new Toy in the works

#1 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 12 December 2010 - 03:08 PM

If it has a " * " I'm using it from my last build
If it has a " ** " I haven't purchased it yet, trying to get my $$$ together.
Whacha think?

* Cooler Master HAF932
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition W/Scyth SCMG-2100
ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme
8Gb G.SKILL Flare (4Gbx2)
** Crucial C300 128 SSD (Win7 64 Ultimate)
* 2 1TB Seagate barracuda/2Gb Hitachi Deskstar(storage)
* 2 Sony/NEC Optiarc DVD/RW/Liteon Blu-Ray reader
* VisionTek Radeon HD 4870 X2/PowerColor HD 4870
* Sound Blaster Audidy2 ZS w/ Fatal1ty I/O panel
* Logitec G15 (old style)/G9
0

#2 User is offline   TERMINATOR2 

  • Ultra Xtreme Geek
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 1,804
  • Joined: 16-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted 12 December 2010 - 03:59 PM

It's my next build exept my video cards will be 2 X 6870.
and I use on board audio.

but the rest is perfect its what i'm planing to build .
Eyefinity rocks on 3 monitors 22" 22" 22" setup woot
0

#3 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 13 December 2010 - 05:32 AM

View PostTERMINATOR2, on 12 December 2010 - 03:59 PM, said:

It's my next build exept my video cards will be 2 X 6870.
and I use on board audio.

but the rest is perfect its what i'm planing to build .


I'm planning on purchasing another 4870x2 I was impressed with this card, and can get one for around $150
I've never had much luck with on board audio, it always seemed choppy to me.
My RAM will be here today (ups truck) so I'm going to start putting it together, when I get the new C300 I'll reinstall windows and start benching it. I can hardly wait ;)
0

#4 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 13 December 2010 - 10:16 PM

I can't get ROG connect to work... I keep getting device not connected errors.
I got it running and OC'd to 4.1 and some change but my 3dmark06 score is alot lower than my old one with the Q9650. I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong. I'm going to reformatt tomorrow and try it again.
0

#5 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 15 December 2010 - 11:03 PM

I still can't get ROG to connect but did figure out why my numbers were so low, I was running the latest ATI drivers and for some reason crossfire was not working. I'll post m score later
0

#6 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 18 December 2010 - 05:00 PM

Nice stuff there! If you got 2 of those 4870x2's you'd really see some scores! Do some Quadfire! :)

3D06 is pretty cpu and memory dependent, so the higher the CPU overclock, and you'll see the benefits in your scoring!
If you just wanna see your video scoring ability, 3D03 is a good one to run!

Though, I'm sure you already knew this, so good luck with your new build! Looks sweet! :up:
0

#7 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 18 December 2010 - 06:12 PM

I just scored another 4870x2 from .aT now waiting on the mailman ;)
0

#8 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 18 December 2010 - 06:16 PM

:up:
0

#9 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 18 December 2010 - 10:22 PM

I got a copy of 3DMark03 I'll hafta install it tomorrow to see what it will do with just 1 card so I'll have something to compare it to.
I ran 3DMark V,when I went online to ORB to list it I got an error telling me I needed to update, so I did that and re ran it and my score dropped by 300 points :bs:
I had to crank my cpu and nb voltage up to get it to pass the CPU tests (the ones with the planes) :wierd:
0

#10 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 18 December 2010 - 11:40 PM

3dmark score
http://3dmark.com/3dm06/15162289
0

#11 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 19 December 2010 - 05:16 PM

I finally got ROG to connect, this is silly but it says to press the switch to get it to connect. So I'm thinking the button is depressed and I have to press it in. That is not the case, it has to be depressed. :doh:
0

#12 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 10 February 2011 - 07:31 PM

I ordered my C300 SSD, bay adapter and 2 ASUS DVD/RW drives today :dtup:
0

#13 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 10 February 2011 - 07:52 PM

This is what I'll have when complete..


Cooler Master HAF932
1200w PC Power & Cooling
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @4.4GHz W/Scyth SCMG-2100
ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme
8Gb G.SKILL Flare (4Gbx2) @ 2GHz
2 ATI Radeon HD 4870X2's w/ AC Accelero XTREME Cooler
128GB Crucial RealSSD C300
2Gb Hitachi Deskstar(storage)
2 ASUS DVD/RW
Liteon Blu-Ray reader
Logitec G15 (old style)
Logitec G9
0

#14 User is offline   FATBOY 

  • Major Geek
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 15-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern NC

Posted 18 February 2011 - 12:57 AM

I got my new DVD and SS drive in and WOW what a difference!
0

#15 User is offline   hokiealumnus 

  • Forum Wars Judge
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 6,012
  • Joined: 07-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Raleigh, NC

Posted 18 February 2011 - 07:37 AM

Congrats! SSD is definitely the one single upgrade people will 'feel' more than anything else on any semi-modern system. Combined with the rest of the hardware you have there, that rig should fly.
My most recent review: AMD HD 6970 Graphics Card Review | Miss a review? Check out the full list here.

Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users