The Raptor Pit: Puttin in a new board! - The Raptor Pit

Jump to content

  • (8 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
Puttin in a new board!

#1 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 16 September 2009 - 01:28 PM

Well I'm going to switch out MB this weekend, and puttin in a Biostar TPower I45-P45 motherboard.

Anyone have a good experience with this board?

If you are using one, do you like the board?

Thanks
Inteller
0

#2 User is offline   chuck4456 

  • I'm Overclocked!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 6,284
  • Joined: 15-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TRP Senior Club

Posted 16 September 2009 - 01:35 PM

QUOTE(Inteller @ Sep 16 2009, 03:28 PM) View Post
Well I'm going to switch out MB this weekend, and puttin in a Biostar TPower I45-P45 motherboard.

Anyone have a good experience with this board?

If you are using one, do you like the board?

Thanks
Inteller

I've had two.
The first one was so-so.
I RMA'd it after about 10 months.
The one that I have now works great, especially with the newer BIOS.
Not a bad board at all.
Very cool running.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image
GIGABYTE P55 UD4P-i5 750-Thermalright HR01 Plus-GeIL Ultra-Sapphire HD3870 Xfire-Seagate Drives-Antec 300-22" BenQ-W7
abit IP35 PRO-E8600-Thermalright HR01 Plus-KHX-Sapphire HD4870T-Seagate Drives-Antec 300 w UGuru Panel-22" LG-XP Pro
ASUS P5Q Deluxe-Q6700-TRUE BE-Noctua Fan-Corsair Dominator-Sapphire HD4870 2GB-WD Black Drives-CM690-40" Bravia V-W7
0

#3 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 16 September 2009 - 01:41 PM

Cool!

Thanks Chuck!
0

#4 User is offline   hokiealumnus 

  • Forum Wars Judge
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 6,012
  • Joined: 07-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Raleigh, NC

Posted 16 September 2009 - 02:57 PM

I've got one. Got me 5GHz, so I certainly can't complain. Watch PWM temps if you're putting a quad on there. There isn't a sensor, so just keep watch for a little bit until you get the feel for it to make sure they're not overheating.
My most recent review: AMD HD 6970 Graphics Card Review | Miss a review? Check out the full list here.

Posted Image
0

#5 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 16 September 2009 - 03:28 PM

Wow, nice OC!

Thanks for the heads up hokiealumnus!

I was going to use my x3380, but I also have a Q9550, and a Q9650
0

#6 User is offline   chuck4456 

  • I'm Overclocked!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 6,284
  • Joined: 15-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TRP Senior Club

Posted 16 September 2009 - 03:44 PM

QUOTE(hokiealumnus @ Sep 16 2009, 04:57 PM) View Post
I've got one. Got me 5GHz, so I certainly can't complain. Watch PWM temps if you're putting a quad on there. There isn't a sensor, so just keep watch for a little bit until you get the feel for it to make sure they're not overheating.

Very good point HOKIE has made.
The power management isn't all that great when it comes to Quads and quite a mosfet or two has been blown because of them.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=196973
Lots of stuff here.
Stick with a dual core.
http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/85276
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image
GIGABYTE P55 UD4P-i5 750-Thermalright HR01 Plus-GeIL Ultra-Sapphire HD3870 Xfire-Seagate Drives-Antec 300-22" BenQ-W7
abit IP35 PRO-E8600-Thermalright HR01 Plus-KHX-Sapphire HD4870T-Seagate Drives-Antec 300 w UGuru Panel-22" LG-XP Pro
ASUS P5Q Deluxe-Q6700-TRUE BE-Noctua Fan-Corsair Dominator-Sapphire HD4870 2GB-WD Black Drives-CM690-40" Bravia V-W7
0

#7 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 16 September 2009 - 04:51 PM

All I have are quads?
0

#8 User is offline   hokiealumnus 

  • Forum Wars Judge
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 6,012
  • Joined: 07-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Raleigh, NC

Posted 16 September 2009 - 05:58 PM

It shouldn't hurt anything to just run a quad with a mild-to-moderate OC. I wouldn't push high volts though. The I45's sometimes have dying MOSFET issues with higher voltage and the extra strain of a quad.
My most recent review: AMD HD 6970 Graphics Card Review | Miss a review? Check out the full list here.

Posted Image
0

#9 User is offline   chuck4456 

  • I'm Overclocked!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 6,284
  • Joined: 15-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TRP Senior Club

Posted 16 September 2009 - 06:42 PM

QUOTE(hokiealumnus @ Sep 16 2009, 07:58 PM) View Post
It shouldn't hurt anything to just run a quad with a mild-to-moderate OC. I wouldn't push high volts though. The I45's sometimes have dying MOSFET issues with higher voltage and the extra strain of a quad.

Now that I think about it, I did try my Q6600 on it.
Never got it stable at 3.6 which was what I had it running on an IP35 PRO.
I was pushing too much voltage because of the incrementation of the voltage settings.
But I did run it stable at a 400x8/ DDR2 1000 for abit. Temps weren't bad.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image
GIGABYTE P55 UD4P-i5 750-Thermalright HR01 Plus-GeIL Ultra-Sapphire HD3870 Xfire-Seagate Drives-Antec 300-22" BenQ-W7
abit IP35 PRO-E8600-Thermalright HR01 Plus-KHX-Sapphire HD4870T-Seagate Drives-Antec 300 w UGuru Panel-22" LG-XP Pro
ASUS P5Q Deluxe-Q6700-TRUE BE-Noctua Fan-Corsair Dominator-Sapphire HD4870 2GB-WD Black Drives-CM690-40" Bravia V-W7
0

#10 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 16 September 2009 - 06:44 PM

After reading most of that thread chuck posted, I was thinking about pulling the north and southbridge, and re-applying some AS5?

I saw some mods in that thread to, which I can do easier now than latter!

Better heatsinks? New thermal paste (AS5)

I'd be wanting to push 1.45v cpu vcore
1.6v cpu pll
1.45 to 1.5v Northbridge
Plus a little extra (v) on the FSB
I'd be wanting to go to 485 to 500 on the FSB
0

#11 User is offline   chuck4456 

  • I'm Overclocked!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 6,284
  • Joined: 15-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TRP Senior Club

Posted 16 September 2009 - 06:53 PM

QUOTE(Inteller @ Sep 16 2009, 08:44 PM) View Post
After reading most of that thread chuck posted, I was thinking about pulling the north and southbridge, and re-applying some AC5?

Not really necessary. IMO.
The heatsinks seem to do well and a you also have that fan to mount over the PWM heatsink.
It was CPU temperature that slowed me down with the Q6600.
If you do that, use MX2 instead. Or Ceramique.
Not only is it non-conductive, it is also non-capacitive.

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image
GIGABYTE P55 UD4P-i5 750-Thermalright HR01 Plus-GeIL Ultra-Sapphire HD3870 Xfire-Seagate Drives-Antec 300-22" BenQ-W7
abit IP35 PRO-E8600-Thermalright HR01 Plus-KHX-Sapphire HD4870T-Seagate Drives-Antec 300 w UGuru Panel-22" LG-XP Pro
ASUS P5Q Deluxe-Q6700-TRUE BE-Noctua Fan-Corsair Dominator-Sapphire HD4870 2GB-WD Black Drives-CM690-40" Bravia V-W7
0

#12 User is offline   hokiealumnus 

  • Forum Wars Judge
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 6,012
  • Joined: 07-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Raleigh, NC

Posted 16 September 2009 - 07:05 PM

QUOTE(chuck4456 @ Sep 16 2009, 08:53 PM) View Post
Not only is it non-conductive, it is also non-capacitive.

Big +1 to that. AS:5 will anger your MOSFETs if you slip a little bit. MX-2 performs better in all applications, not just that as well; at least in my experience. Beats AS:5 on my E8400 by at least 2C. Haven't had the privilege of trying MX-3 yet. I've got TIM coming out of my ears right now, so no need to buy any. It'll be my next one when the time comes though. Arctic Cooling makes some darn good TIM.
My most recent review: AMD HD 6970 Graphics Card Review | Miss a review? Check out the full list here.

Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 16 September 2009 - 08:49 PM

Ok, Thanks again hokiealumnus & chuck4456!

Appreciate the input!

I have my x3380 lapped already, and planned on using a Prolimatech Megahalems cpu cooler
0

#14 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 17 September 2009 - 04:14 AM

Ok, So one last thing hokiealumnus & chuck4456

Do you think these objectives are to much for the new board?

I'd be wanting to push 1.45v cpu vcore
1.6v cpu pll
1.45 to 1.5v Northbridge
Plus a little extra (v) on the FSB
I'd be wanting to go to 485 to 500 on the FSB

This would be with using my X3380 & my Prolimatech Megahalems cpu cooler

Plus I have MX-3 on hand now.
0

#15 User is offline   chuck4456 

  • I'm Overclocked!
  • Group: Elite
  • Posts: 6,284
  • Joined: 15-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TRP Senior Club

Posted 17 September 2009 - 05:56 AM

QUOTE(Inteller @ Sep 17 2009, 06:14 AM) View Post
Ok, So one last thing hokiealumnus & chuck4456

Do you think these objectives are to much for the new board?

I'd be wanting to push 1.45v cpu vcore
1.6v cpu pll
1.45 to 1.5v Northbridge
Plus a little extra (v) on the FSB
I'd be wanting to go to 485 to 500 on the FSB

This would be with using my X3380 & my Prolimatech Megahalems cpu cooler

Plus I have MX-3 on hand now.

Good morning.
Not at all, but see what you need first.
There are skew and performance level options in the BIOS that will factor in as well.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image
GIGABYTE P55 UD4P-i5 750-Thermalright HR01 Plus-GeIL Ultra-Sapphire HD3870 Xfire-Seagate Drives-Antec 300-22" BenQ-W7
abit IP35 PRO-E8600-Thermalright HR01 Plus-KHX-Sapphire HD4870T-Seagate Drives-Antec 300 w UGuru Panel-22" LG-XP Pro
ASUS P5Q Deluxe-Q6700-TRUE BE-Noctua Fan-Corsair Dominator-Sapphire HD4870 2GB-WD Black Drives-CM690-40" Bravia V-W7
0

#16 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 17 September 2009 - 06:28 AM

Cool! & thanks chuck4456!

I have been continuing to read the rest of that thread you had posted (it's a looong one) LOL

I do see there are many more OC'ing options, and plan to take full advantage of the info on that thread!

Thanks again for posting that link! Tons of info, and on just what I need!

tup.gif
0

#17 User is offline   BigJoe5434 

  • Texas Outlaw
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 227
  • Joined: 06-September 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 18 September 2009 - 11:11 AM

make sure to post some temp screenshots i would like to see how that Prolimatech Megahalems cooler performs it looks beast.

Gigabyte 990FXA UD3
AMD FX-8350 @ 4.2GHz
Corsair H100 CPU Cooler
16GB Gskill Sniper DDR3 1866
XFX HD7870 DoubleD GHz Edition
OCZ Vertex 4 120GB SSD / Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
Western Digital Raptor X 150GB SATA / Games
Corsair HX850 PSU
Asus 20x Dual Layer DVD Burner with Lightscribe
Cooler Master HAF Advanced Case
0

#18 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 18 September 2009 - 02:05 PM

No prob Joe!

Yes, the Prolimatech Megahalems cpu cooler has some excellent reviews.
Frozen CPU's did a temp, comparison with the top 10, or so, cpu coolers out today, using an i7 system, and the Prolimatech came out on top.
0

#19 User is offline   .aT 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,286
  • Joined: 06-October 08
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:The States

Posted 18 September 2009 - 02:12 PM

QUOTE(hokiealumnus @ Sep 16 2009, 08:05 PM) View Post
I've got TIM coming out of my ears right now...

doc.gif Hmm, I don't think TIM is what's coming outa'your ears, Hokie, sounds more like CSF to me. I'd get that looked at sooner than later.

I need some MX-2...I should have submitted an RMA when I ran into the middle of the tube and it was nothing but watery fluid the rest of the way down. I just figured newegg would say "I had it too long" or "didn't have the tube sitting upright" or something and didn't want to get into an argument over it. It sat straight up for four to six weeks before I opened it. I still really like the stuff, just didn't get to use what I paid for. Only leary of buying again because of that. You don't use it all at once and you don't know it's "bad" until you get to that point. You see my point.

Off'subject...rant...me? Noooooooo!

We now return you to your normally scheduled thread.
Abit ANS78GS | AMD 940 3.6GHz | GSkill DDR2 1066 2x2GB | EVGA 9800GTX+ SC | Corsair 550W | Sunbeam cooler | Antec 300

GB GA-X58-USB3 rev. 1.0 | i7-980x 4GHz | Corsair DDR3 2000 3x2GB | MSI 480GTX Twin Frozr II | Corsair 750W | True Black | Storm Sniper
0

#20 User is offline   Inteller 

  • Grand Master Geek
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 4,632
  • Joined: 10-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:USA

Posted 18 September 2009 - 02:17 PM

hysterical.gif
0

Share this topic:


  • (8 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users